Sycophant Hex Forum Index

<  Keepers (PI Accredited)  ~  Accredited Beta

phoenix
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 12:47 am Reply with quote
Name or Penname: phoenix or phoenix316 on Wolfsbane

Email: webmistress@craisie.com

PI Accredited Number: 5068078984

Beta Experience: I began beta reading for HP spring 2005 and have worked with 5 different authors and decided to get into beta reading after having difficulties finding betas.

Writing Experience: Began writing fanfic in other fandoms in 2000, and HP early 2005. I have several stories archived at Occlumency, Wolfsbane, and Pureblood.

Personal Website: Soley Slytherin

Ratings: All

Ships: Preferably the adults. I'm fine with OC/Canon fics as I realize there is a lack of female adult characters. I have recently embraced the LM/HG pairing, but I'm not sure I'm ready for HG/SS. If it is a future fic, I would be open to pairing an adult with a former student.

Categories/Genres: Almost all, though I'm not good at poetry or songfic. I'm probably not a good choice for BDSM just due to a lack of experience in that genre.

Strengths as beta reader: Spelling and grammar are things I'm pretty meticulous about. One may slip by me from time to time, but I catch most of them. I have plenty of resources to look up what I don't know.

I also consider myself pretty good at canon. I think I've been dinged enough on my submissions that I catch almost all the errors in spelling, italicization and capitalization.

Weakness: As an American, I'm not perfect on my Briticisms. I can do either British or American spellings equally as easily, but I miss some idioms.

If you are having a lot of problems with tenses, you need to let me know. Unless someone points it out to me, I have a tendency to let tense changes slide by me. Once it is pointed out, I see the changes quite easily.