Sycophant Hex Forum Index

<  The Enchanted Quill  ~  Submitting poetry: How to reduce your chances for rejection

carecrystal
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 9:52 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 29 Nov 2004 Posts: 87 Location: Michigan
Just as with fiction, poems submitted to Sycophant Hex are subject to review and acceptance. Because SH receives fewer poems, the standards for poetry have not been as extensively defined as SH's standards for fiction. In fact, the published SH policy on poetry is as follows:

Poetry: Poetry must contain recognizable parts of the characters if posting at one of the character focused archives. If it is vague the Admins have the right to refer you to Chaos, original works archive, for posting it there.

The following, therefore, is not the policy of SH. Although I'm a SH Admin, the following is just my own opinion being offered as CareCrystal, a private individual, with the hope that someone out there will find it helpful.

Although the writing of poetry tends to be an intuitive experience, there are some steps I believe you can take to improve the chances that your poetry will be accepted on SH:

1) Understand what poetry really is. First and foremost, song lyrics are not poetry, although some of the very best song lyrics have poetic elements (which is often what makes them so good.) All of us constantly hear the lyrics of popular songs and because they're so familiar to us, we tend to confuse song lyrics with real poetry---but they're not. When submitting a poem to Sycophant Hex, it's important to write something more than just words of emotion that have a certain rhythm and rhyme---in other words, it's important to write something that's a little more than a song lyric.