Sycophant Hex Forum Index

<  Keepers  ~  Been there, done that, got the t-shirt. Advice for the beta.

azazello
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:47 pm Reply with quote
I've already posted advice (interfering and bossy cow as I am) to authors. This is for the prospective beta readers out there. Subtitled, know what you are getting into.

I've been an author and beta read. It took a while to find a good beta reader. Every fic writer needs one however good they think they are. Here's some things I learned as a beta, and as an author that I think any prospective beta reader might wish to know.

1. Seriously, are you qualified? I don't mean that you need to be an off-duty proof reader. But generally, you should have a good working grasp of the appropriate language, the rules of grammar and punctuation. If you have been taken on for canon vetting, you should be pretty competent about canon, from the books, and not the movies. To brit pick, you should be British. (Brit picking is generally picking up non british modes of expression and converting them into British usage).

2. Are you prepared to work? That means setting aside regular time to read over whatever story has been sent. I strongly advise anyone new to it, not to take on too much work. It can engulf you if you have several scripts to read. You need time to carefully read the story. There's no excuse for sloppy reading.