Sycophant Hex Forum Index

<  The Common Room  ~  Time Turner Abuse??

bmoravenclaw
Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:28 pm Reply with quote
I'm fairly new to fan fiction and there is one subject that completely confuses me. How on earth did the idea that Time Turner use would permanently age someone start?

In my opinon this goes against every previoulsy established concept surrounding time travel. ( I'm a heavy reader of sci-fi and fantasy and my friends and family have bestowed upon me an honorary degree in Space/Time Continuim Studies.) In each instance Hermione returned to her current time frame. Is that why Dumbledore is over 100? Maybe he's actually only 90. If this theory applied to dieting that would mean I actually weigh at least a 100 pounds more than I actually do.

I'm assuming that this was just a plot device to get Hermione to be of age before having relations with Snape but to tell you truth as soon as I see this; I move on to the next story.
Alynna
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:25 am Reply with quote
Here's the way I see this... she's going back in time and spending time back there. Say she goes to Arithmancy, and once she's done there, she goes back in time to take Muggle studies. She spends that whole hour in Muggle Studies, just like she did in Arithmancy, so she has lived two hours where everyone else has lived one. She returns to her proper time naturally, not by using the time turner. If she were to keep going back one hour, perpetually, she'd eventually get noticeably older. Or, if she went back, say, 100 years, she would be 113 (assuminge this takes place in POA) by the time she got back to the exact minute she'd left.

Diana
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 3:02 am Reply with quote
Head Moderator Joined: 04 Jan 2005 Posts: 116
Quote:
I'm fairly new to fan fiction and there is one subject that completely confuses me. How on earth did the idea that Time Turner use would permanently age someone start?